Xtorm SolarBooster 28W: our full review

The Xtorm SolarBooster 28W adds an LCD screen and a built-in kickstand to the usual foldable USB solar panel formula, but it costs more than double the BigBlue 28W and weighs 34% more, at identical power output and identical port ceiling.

Our rating
3.3/5
Efficiency: 3.0 out of 5 (weighting 25%)Efficiency3.0Portability and size: 3.3 out of 5 (weighting 25%)Portability3.3Weather resistance: 3.3 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Weatherproofing3.3Output ports: 3.7 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Output3.7Build and endurance: 3.3 out of 5 (weighting 10%)Build3.3

How is this rating calculated?

Xtorm SolarBooster 28W foldable solar panel unfolded across four panels, LCD screen and X 28W logo panel visible

The essentials

The SolarBooster 28W is not a bad panel. Its two simultaneous ports hold their claimed 15W each, the LCD screen is a genuinely useful idea that none of the panels Xtorm itself compares it against offer, and the kickstand with carabiner earns its keep on the trail. The problem sits elsewhere: at identical power output and identical port ceiling, the BigBlue 28W weighs 230g less, claims fuller weatherproofing (IP44 versus IPX4), and costs more than half as much in the UK. Xtorm also does not publish a cell efficiency percentage at all, where BigBlue states 24%, and the hinges between the four folding panels stay fairly stiff in use. For anyone who genuinely values a live amp readout or the brand's reputation, the SolarBooster remains defensible. For most other hiking or van-life uses, the BigBlue 28W covers the same need at a noticeably lower price.

Strengths

  • The only panel in its own comparison to feature a real-time LCD readout (amperage), missing on the BigBlue 28W, the Elfcam 40W and the FlexSolar 25W
  • Built-in kickstand and carabiner, genuinely useful for angling the panel on the ground or clipping it to a backpack while walking
  • Two simultaneous ports (USB-A and USB-C) that hold 15W each (5V/3A), exactly matching the BigBlue 28W on this specific point
  • Claimed 2-year warranty, extendable to 3 years via the brand's 2+1 registration scheme, a year longer than the BigBlue 28W's standard cover
  • Compact unfolded size (88.7 x 23.6cm at 2.3cm thick) that packs into its own carry case

Limitations

  • The heaviest panel in its own comparison: 910g, against roughly 680g for the BigBlue 28W at identical power output (28W), a 34% difference
  • IPX4 water resistance only covers splashing water, with no dust protection claimed at all, while the BigBlue 28W (IP44) covers both and the Elfcam 40W claims a higher IPX5 rating on water alone
  • No cell efficiency percentage published by the brand at all, unlike the BigBlue 28W which states 24%: there is no way to compare the two panels on this specific point
  • The hinges between the four folding panels are fairly stiff, with the end panels tending to fold back on their own unless something holds them flat
  • Two ports in total against three simultaneous outputs on the BigBlue 28W (2x USB-C, 1x USB-A), a real gap for anyone charging more than two devices at once
  • UK price runs more than double the BigBlue 28W or the Elfcam 40W, with no proven gain in power or efficiency to show for it beyond the LCD screen
  • No DC or MC4 output: like almost every USB panel of this format, it cannot plug directly into a power station fitted with a dedicated solar input
Xtorm SolarBooster 28W: see the full details and price →

A Gen'24 foldable panel, four SunPower cells

The Xtorm SolarBooster 28W belongs to what the brand itself labels its "Gen'24" range. It is a foldable, portable solar panel with no built-in battery, designed to charge a phone, tablet, GoPro or power bank straight from the sun. It unfolds into four panels, each fitted with one monocrystalline SunPower cell, for a combined rated output of 28W.

28 W
Rated power output
4
SunPower cells, one per panel
910 g
Weight when folded

Unfolded, it measures roughly 88.7 x 23.6cm at 2.3cm thick. Two USB ports (one USB-A, one USB-C) allow two devices to charge at once, and a built-in LCD screen shows the amperage being delivered live. With no internal battery, this panel stores nothing: a device, or a power bank, needs to stay plugged in while the panel sits in the sun for the energy to actually transfer.

UK pricing, around £120 to £130 depending on retailer, places it well above foldable USB panels of comparable power already reviewed on this site, which is worth weighing before deciding.

Efficiency that is never given a number

Xtorm's documentation highlights the cell technology (monocrystalline silicon, ETFE construction, SunPower branding) and claims better efficiency than standard polycrystalline panels, but never publishes an actual efficiency percentage for this model. That is a real gap next to the BigBlue 28W, whose own spec sheet states 24% cell efficiency outright.

No independent measurement exists for this specific model, which is true of nearly every small foldable panel in this category. On panels of comparable rated output, real-world production in full sun typically falls short of the nameplate figure, and drops sharply under cloud cover or at a shallow angle to the sun, regardless of brand.

Worth knowing: the absence of a stated efficiency percentage does not mean the SunPower cells are poor quality; it is a recognised brand in this market. But without that figure or an independent measurement, there is no way to tell whether the SolarBooster performs better, worse, or the same as the BigBlue 28W on this specific point.

In practice, this panel behaves like almost every small USB panel in its class: output depends heavily on direct sunlight, useful as a top-up over several hours, but no match for a mains socket for a quick charge.

910g: the heaviest in its own comparison

Folded, the SolarBooster 28W weighs 910g and packs into its supplied carry case. That is a reasonable weight for a panel of this output, but it is also, quite precisely, the heaviest of the four panels Xtorm itself chooses to cite in its own product comparison.

Folded weight, Xtorm SolarBooster 28W against two panels the brand itself cites for comparisonXtorm SolarBooster 28W910gElfcam 40W (claimed)≈ 700gBigBlue 28W680g
Claimed weight when folded. The more powerful Elfcam 40W is still lighter; the BigBlue 28W, at identical rated output, weighs 230g less.

The comparison is particularly unflattering against the BigBlue 28W: at exactly matching rated output (28W), the gap reaches 230g, or 34% more on the scale. Even the Elfcam 40W, despite offering 12W more, is lighter according to figures Xtorm itself publishes in its own comparison table.

The unfolded footprint (88.7 x 23.6cm, 2.3cm thick) stays compact and fits the supplied backpack-style case. But on a product whose central selling point is portability, that extra half-pound compared with the closest rival matters to the decision.

IPX4: protected against water, silent on dust

The SolarBooster 28W is rated IPX4: it resists splashing water and light rain for short periods, but the "X" in place of the first digit means no dust or solid-particle protection is claimed for this product at all. That is not the same as zero dust protection, but it is a figure the manufacturer simply does not disclose.

Weatherproofing claimed by each brand, as cited in Xtorm's own published comparison
ProductXtorm SolarBooster 28WBigBlue 28WElfcam 40WFlexSolar 25W pocket
Claimed ratingIPX4IP44IPX5Splash-resistant (rating unspecified)
Dust protection claimedNot statedYes (level 4)Not statedNot stated

On this specific point, the SolarBooster 28W is the only one of the four cited panels with no dust protection claim whatsoever: the BigBlue 28W (IP44) covers both aspects, and the Elfcam 40W claims a higher rating on water alone (IPX5). None of these ratings has been independently verified in public to date; they are all manufacturer-stated figures.

For everyday hiking or van-life use, this nuance stays secondary as long as the panel is not left out in heavy rain or set down on very dusty ground for hours on end. It is still worth knowing before buying rather than discovering afterwards.

The LCD screen and kickstand: the real differentiator

This is where the SolarBooster 28W genuinely scores. Its built-in LCD screen shows the live amperage being delivered by the panel, which allows for precise adjustment towards the sun to optimise collection, rather than guessing whether the chosen angle is right. Xtorm itself states, in its own comparison table, that none of the three panels it compares itself against (BigBlue 28W, Elfcam 40W, FlexSolar 25W) offer this feature.

2
Simultaneous ports (USB-A, USB-C)
15 W
Ceiling per port (5V/3A), matching the BigBlue 28W
0
DC or MC4 output

On raw connectivity, both ports (USB-A and USB-C) cap at 15W each (5V/3A), a figure that exactly matches the BigBlue 28W at identical panel rated output (28W). Neither offers a DC or MC4 output: this panel cannot plug directly into a power station fitted with a dedicated solar input, a limit shared by almost every USB panel in this format.

The real gap is elsewhere: the BigBlue 28W offers three ports in total (2x USB-C and 1x USB-A) against two on the SolarBooster. For anyone routinely charging more than two devices at once, that is a genuine practical difference. The SolarBooster partly makes up for it with its built-in kickstand, which allows it to sit at the best angle to the sun without an improvised prop, and its carabiner, handy for clipping to a backpack on the move: two ergonomic touches the BigBlue 28W does not offer.

Against the BigBlue 28W: same power, very different price

At exactly matching rated output (28W), the BigBlue 28W is the SolarBooster's most direct rival, and it is also a product already reviewed on this site. The comparison, criterion by criterion, is fairly one-sided on several objective points.

Xtorm SolarBooster 28W against the BigBlue 28W, at exactly matching rated output
CriterionXtorm SolarBooster 28WBigBlue 28W
Rated power output28W28W
Claimed cell efficiencyNot stated24%
Folded weight910g680g
Output ports2 (USB-A, USB-C, 15W each)3 (2x USB-C, 1x USB-A, 15W each)
Control screenLCD (amperage)None
Built-in kickstand and carabinerYesNo
Claimed weatherproofingIPX4IP44
Claimed warranty2 years (3 years under 2+1)2 years
UK price observed≈ £120 to £130≈ £60

The BigBlue 28W wins on weight, claimed weatherproofing, port count and price. The SolarBooster answers with a genuine LCD screen and ergonomic extras (kickstand, carabiner) the BigBlue lacks, plus a year's extra warranty under its 2+1 scheme. Even so, the observed price gap, more than double, is wide against what those two advantages actually amount to in daily use.

A solar top-up, not a standalone power source

Like any battery-free foldable panel of this output, the SolarBooster 28W earns its keep as a top-up, not as a primary power source. With no internal storage, the energy produced has to be used immediately by whatever is plugged in, or by a power bank sitting alongside: the moment the sun goes or the panel is unplugged, output stops dead.

The hinges between the four folding panels are fairly stiff, with the end panels tending to fold back on their own unless something holds them flat once the panel is laid out on the ground. That is not a dealbreaker, but it is worth knowing: weighing down the corners with stones or the supplied straps avoids the issue entirely.

Worth knowing: neither the SolarBooster 28W nor the BigBlue 28W offers a DC or MC4 output. Neither can power a station directly: both are limited to charging USB devices (phone, tablet, GoPro, power bank).

Used on a multi-day hike, in a van or while camping, this type of panel mainly keeps a phone or power bank topped up over several days with no mains access, rather than delivering a fast charge with full self-sufficiency. The SolarBooster's LCD screen helps precisely with that top-up use, by making it easy to find the best available angle to the sun.

Who the SolarBooster 28W is for

Supplied with a USB-A cable and a USB-C cable, the Xtorm SolarBooster 28W suits travellers, hikers and van-lifers who genuinely value the LCD readout and the ergonomic extras (kickstand, carabiner), and who are willing to pay significantly more for those two additions.

For anyone chasing the best balance between price and available power, with no need for a live amp readout, the BigBlue 28W covers the same outdoor USB charging need at a noticeably lower price, with one extra port and 230g less to carry. For anyone needing more raw power, the Elfcam 40W, cited by Xtorm itself, offers 12W more for a price close to the BigBlue's.

The SolarBooster 28W remains a defensible choice for a specific type of buyer, one who values visual charge feedback and the standing of an established outdoor-accessories brand, rather than an obvious pick for most nomadic solar charging needs.

The rating in detail

Our rating
3.3/5
Efficiency 3.0
Portability and size 3.3
Weather resistance 3.3
Output ports 3.7
Capacity and expansion not measured
Solar input and MPPT not measured
Control and smart features not measured
Installation and compliance not measured
Build and endurance 3.3
Battery compatibility not measured
Safety and protections not measured
Xtorm SolarBooster 28W: see the full details and price →

The product and its alternatives

Xtorm SolarBooster 28W

Xtorm SolarBooster 28W

See price (2)

The Xtorm SolarBooster 28W foldable solar panel turns sunlight into power for your phone, tablet or GoPro, wherever your next outdoor trip takes you.

View product
BigBlue 28W

BigBlue 28W

See price (22)

A panel that fits in your pack and charges three devices in the sun: the BigBlue 28W combines high-efficiency SunPower cells, three USB ports and weather resistance.

View product
Jackery SolarSaga 40W Mini

Jackery SolarSaga 40W Mini

See price (5)

The smallest SolarSaga: 40 W in a 1.2 kg foldable panel that slips into a backpack to feed a compact station at camp.

View product
Allpowers SP001 21W

Allpowers SP001 21W

£49.99 (3)

21W foldable and just 610g: the little USB solar panel that charges a phone, tablet or power bank in the sun, with no socket or bulk.

View product

Frequently asked questions

Not on the measurable objective criteria: at identical power output (28W), the BigBlue 28W is lighter (680g against 910g), claims fuller weatherproofing (IP44 against IPX4), and costs less than half as much in the UK. The SolarBooster answers with an LCD control screen and a built-in kickstand the BigBlue lacks.

No, it has no internal battery. A device or power bank needs to stay plugged in while the panel is in the sun for the energy to transfer: it is not a standalone energy reserve.

Yes, the USB-A and USB-C ports work simultaneously, each up to 15W (5V/3A), enough to charge a phone and a power bank at the same time, for example.

It is rated IPX4: it resists splashing water and light rain for short periods, but the manufacturer claims no dust protection for this model, unlike the BigBlue 28W, which is rated IP44.

Xtorm states a 2-year warranty, extendable to 3 years through its 2+1 registration scheme, which typically requires registering the product online.

910g, for an unfolded footprint of roughly 88.7 x 23.6cm at 2.3cm thick, packed into the supplied carry case.