Ugreen Nexode 20000 55W: our full review

The built-in USB-C cable on this 20,000mAh power bank doubles as a carry strap, but its 55W figure only applies to one phone brand: everything else, iPhone included, is capped at 45W.

Our rating
4.1/5
Capacity and runtime: 4.3 out of 5 (weighting 25%)Capacity4.3Output power: 4.0 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Power4.0Size and weight: 4.0 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Size4.0Ports and cables: 4.2 out of 5 (weighting 15%)Ports4.2Recharging: 3.8 out of 5 (weighting 10%)Recharging3.8Build and endurance: 4.4 out of 5 (weighting 10%)Build4.4

How is this rating calculated?

Ugreen Nexode 20000 55W power bank at a three-quarter angle, built-in USB-C cable looped above the casing, LED display showing the charge percentage

The essentials

The Ugreen Nexode 20000 55W keeps an honest promise, as long as you read past the headline number: its 55W ceiling only applies to compatible Xiaomi phones, while the rest of the fleet (iPhone, Galaxy, laptops) is capped at 45W over Power Delivery. Its 74Wh stay under the cabin threshold, and its CCC certification, rare at this price point, makes it a sound pick for anyone travelling regularly to China. The trade-off: a full recharge of around 4 hours, well behind the 90 minutes of its own 145W cousin, and a 470g weight that is nothing special for the category. For occasional to frequent international travel, cable always at hand and Chinese certification included, it is a solid choice rather than the flagship of the range.

Strengths

  • Built-in USB-C cable that doubles as a carry strap, never left behind in a drawer or bag
  • CCC certification visible on the casing, useful for domestic connecting flights within China
  • 74Wh consistent with the cells inside the pack, not just a marketing figure
  • Five charging protocols supported (PD 3.0, PPS, QC4.0, SCP, UFCS), broad compatibility
  • Three simultaneous outputs, all while staying under the 100Wh cabin allowance

Limitations

  • The 55W tier only applies to compatible Xiaomi, Redmi and Poco phones; everything else is capped at 45W
  • Full recharge takes around 4 hours, against 90 minutes for the 145W Nexode in the same range
  • 470g for 152 x 71 x 30mm: heavier than its 145W cousin (450g), despite delivering three times less power
  • LED display limited to a percentage, with no cycle count or temperature readout like the newer version already on sale
  • Built-in cable limited to around 18cm, restrictive if the device needs to stay away from the casing
  • Total power is shared across the 3 active outputs, with no way to add up the individual ceilings
Ugreen Nexode 20000 55W: see the full details and price →

A real 74Wh: what the advertised 20,000mAh are actually worth

The casing advertises 20,000mAh, a figure calculated at 3.7V, the nominal voltage of a single lithium cell. Converted into usable energy, that works out to 74Wh, the figure Ugreen publishes on its spec sheet across the six markets this site covers. Inside, that 20,000mAh pack takes the form of two lithium-ion polymer cells rated at 10,000mAh (37Wh) each, wired in series, a configuration consistent with the advertised total, without the gap that sometimes exists on this market between a sold capacity and one actually fitted inside.

74 Wh
advertised energy
3.6×
iPhone 17 Pro
2.8×
iPad mini 7
100 Wh
cabin allowance limit

In practical terms, that 74Wh recharges, according to Ugreen, an iPhone 17 Pro around 3.6 times, a Galaxy S26 Ultra 3.1 times, a Xiaomi 17 Pro 2.6 times, or an iPad mini 7 2.8 times. That is a comfortable reserve for several days away from an outlet, though not enough to fully recharge a laptop from empty to full: this Nexode has no output powerful enough for that job, it stays geared towards mobile devices.

The 100Wh threshold matters most for anyone flying: beyond it, most airlines require prior approval to carry a power bank in the cabin. With 74Wh, the 26Wh margin remains comfortable. One caveat still applies: this figure is the one published by the manufacturer, consistent with the hardware inside the product, but no independent measurement of the energy this specific reference actually delivers to a connected device, once conversion losses are accounted for, could be found at the time of writing. As with any battery pack of this kind, part of the stored energy is necessarily lost in voltage conversion; the exact scale of that loss remains, here, missing data rather than an invented figure.

55W, but only for one phone brand

The power figure on the casing and in the product name, 55W, only applies to one specific situation: a Xiaomi, Redmi or Poco phone compatible with the proprietary Xiaomi Turbo Charge protocol, plugged into the built-in USB-C cable. For every other device, iPhone, Galaxy, Pixel, tablet or laptop, power tops out at 45W over USB Power Delivery 3.0. The product page and the official listing are transparent about this once you read the fine print, but the "55W" shorthand used in the product name can suggest a universal power level.

Comparison between the maximum power reserved for compatible Xiaomi devices using Turbo Charge, 55W, and the maximum power offered to every other device over USB Power Delivery, 45W.Xiaomi (Turbo Charge)55WAny other device (PD)45W
Maximum power delivered by the built-in cable and the USB-C port depending on the device plugged in: 55W reserved for compatible Xiaomi phones, 45W for every other device over Power Delivery.

This 45W ceiling is not arbitrary: across the usual USB Power Delivery steps (5V/3A, 9V/3A, 12V/3A, 15V/3A and 20V/2.25A, or 45W at peak), the 45W version in the same range, which shares the same electronics platform, holds that level without falling short of the claim. This 55W version simply adds Xiaomi protocol recognition on top, without changing the universal ceiling for other devices. An iPhone 17 Pro Max recovers around 66% of charge in 30 minutes on the standard USB-C port, an honest result for 45W even if it falls short of the 55W in the product name.

The UFCS protocol (Universal Fast Charging Specification), also supported, deserves a mention: it is a recent Chinese standard aiming to unify the proprietary fast-charging schemes of Huawei, Xiaomi, Oppo and Vivo under one protocol recognised across several brands' hardware. Its presence widens this power bank's real-world compatibility beyond Power Delivery alone, though its usefulness depends directly on which devices are already in the traveller's pocket.

Three outputs, one shared power budget

The casing offers three simultaneous outputs: the built-in USB-C cable, a second, independent USB-C port, and a USB-A port capped at 22.5W. All three can power devices at the same time, a useful setup for a group on the move or for topping up a phone, a smartwatch and earbuds in a single stop. What the product name does not say: these three outputs share a common power budget rather than each running at its own maximum at all times.

In practice, plugging in a single device lets available power reach its individual ceiling, 55W for a compatible Xiaomi phone or 45W for anything else. As soon as 2 or 3 devices charge together, that power is split between the active ports: each then receives less than its theoretical maximum, and no combination lets the individual ceilings add up. This is a mechanism common to nearly every multi-port power bank on the market, Ugreen is no exception, but it is worth knowing before counting on fast simultaneous charging for several power-hungry devices.

Worth knowing: to keep fast charging on the priority device, it is better to reserve the USB-A port for a low-power accessory (earbuds, smartwatch, controller) rather than a second phone on fast charge.

A low-current mode is also available, activated by holding the power bank's button for 3 seconds. It adapts output for devices that only draw a very small current, such as wireless earbuds or a smartwatch, avoiding the automatic cut-offs these small devices often trigger on a standard power bank once the requested current drops below a minimum threshold.

CCC certification: what it really changes for China

The CCC mark (China Compulsory Certificate), printed directly on this Nexode's casing, is the real differentiator for this reference against much of the market. This certification has been mandatory for selling power banks inside China since August 2024, and since 28 June 2025 the Civil Aviation Administration of China (CAAC) has banned boarding with any power bank lacking a visible CCC mark on domestic flights within mainland China. The check specifically looks for an oval logo with three interlocking "C"s, printed directly on the shell: a removable sticker does not qualify.

One nuance matters here, and it is rarely spelled out: this requirement covers flights within mainland China, not entry into the country from abroad. A traveller taking a direct international flight into China is not, in principle, subject to this specific rule on arrival. However, as soon as an itinerary includes a domestic connecting flight, for example Paris to Shanghai followed by Shanghai to Chengdu, that second leg falls under CAAC regulation, and a power bank without a visible CCC mark can be refused or confiscated at the security check. This is exactly the situation, common for anyone visiting several Chinese cities on the same trip, that this Nexode's certification covers.

This regulatory requirement follows several onboard fire incidents attributed by Chinese authorities to non-compliant power banks. It addresses a genuine safety concern, and enforcement is now strict at domestic Chinese airports.

Recharging itself: around 4 hours, the real weak point

The power bank accepts up to 45W on input, through either its built-in cable or its independent USB-C port, and Ugreen states a full recharge of around 4 hours with a charger of that power or higher (not included in the box). That is a decent figure for an era when this type of product topped out at 18 or 20W, but it lags well behind more recent references from the same brand: the Nexode 20000 145W, which shares the same nominal 74Wh capacity, accepts up to 80W on input and recharges fully in around 90 minutes, nearly three times faster.

Stated full recharge time, against the more powerful version in the same range
ModelNexode 20000 55WNexode 20000 145W
Maximum input45W80W
Full recharge time≈ 4h≈ 1h30

Pass-through charging (recharging the power bank while it feeds a device plugged into one of its outputs) remains available, useful at a desk or in a hotel room with only one socket free. But for anyone happy to plug this in overnight and find it full by morning without a second thought, the stated 4 hours cause no issue at all; it is mainly for a top-up during the day, between two appointments, that the gap with faster competitors starts to show.

470g for 152 x 71 x 30mm: heavier than its three-times-more-powerful cousin

This Nexode weighs 470g for 152 x 71 x 30mm, built-in cable included. That is a bag item rather than a pocket one: its length exceeds that of a recent smartphone, and the 30mm thickness, cable folded against the casing, keeps it from sitting truly flat against other items.

The notable point lies in comparing it with the rest of the built-in-cable Nexode range: the 45W version, virtually identical physically, weighs 468g for the same dimensions, a negligible difference. But the Nexode 20000 145W, which triples total available power and pushes the built-in cable from 45W to 100W, weighs 450g, 20g less than this 55W version, inside a wider but thinner casing (139 x 80 x 27mm). In other words, on this specific range, paying for more power does not cost more weight: whatever really adds weight to a built-in-cable power bank seems to come down to other design choices rather than output power alone.

Weight compared across four 20,000mAh built-in-cable power banks in the same Ugreen Nexode range: 468 grams for the 45W version, 470 grams for this 55W version, 450 grams for the 145W version, and 505 grams for the 145W version in 25,000mAh. The 55W version is not the lightest despite having the lowest power in the group.Nexode 20000 45W468 gNexode 20000 55W470 gNexode 20000 145W450 gNexode 25000 145W505 g
Stated weight of four built-in-cable power banks in the Nexode 20000/25000mAh range, across power levels.

In practice, this 20g gap is too small to steer a purchase on its own. It mainly shows that the weight of a built-in-cable power bank depends on its overall design (cell size, casing structure, cable mechanism) at least as much as on its output power.

Against other 20,000mAh power banks on the market

At around £28 to £38, this Nexode competes with the most common 20,000mAh power banks on the market. Against the Anker 335 (PowerCore 20K), the Baseus Bipow Pro 20000 and the Xiaomi Power Bank 20000, it stands out through a combination none of the three rivals offer together: a built-in USB-C cable, a display and CCC certification printed on the casing.

Ugreen Nexode 20000 55W against three direct alternatives of the same capacity
CriterionNexode 20000 55WAnker 335 (PowerCore 20K)Baseus Bipow Pro 20000Xiaomi Power Bank 20000
Max power55W (Xiaomi), 45W PD20W25W33W
Built-in cableYesNoNoNo
DisplayYes (LED)NoYesNo
CCC certification shownYesNot statedNot statedNot stated

The Anker 335 remains a safe bet but tops out at 20W with no cable or display: for anyone charging just a phone with no urgency, it is plenty and typically costs less. The Baseus Bipow Pro adds a monitoring display but no built-in cable, meaning one still needs to be carried separately. The Xiaomi plays the raw-power card at 33W, ahead of the other two at 20W and 25W, but without a cable or a visible Chinese certification, ironic for a Chinese brand. Against these three references, the Nexode 20000 55W remains the only one to combine all three arguments at once, at the cost of a simpler display than the one on its own higher-end sibling.

Build quality, protections, and a newer version already for sale

The casing includes multiple protection against overvoltage, overcurrent, overcharging, overheating and short circuits, paired with UL94 V-0 certified fire-resistant materials. The built-in cable carries its own identification chip (E-Marker), a component that guarantees the cable is recognised and rated for the stated power rather than being a simple passive wire. The manufacturer's warranty runs for 2 years, a correct standard for the category without being the longest on the market.

Ugreen has built itself up over more than a decade on charging accessories, cables, GaN chargers and power banks, with distribution now broad across mainstream retailers. Nothing in the information available for this reference at the time of writing points to a structural fault or a recall, a positive sign without being a definitive guarantee over time for a model that has so far stayed fairly new on the market.

One point is worth flagging for anyone torn between generations: since late summer 2026, Ugreen has been selling a newer version of this same "55W 20000mAh" range, more compact (around 389g for 116 x 71 x 30mm against 470g here) and fitted with a fuller display showing charge cycle count and internal temperature on top of the remaining percentage. This newer version is priced noticeably higher than the one covered in this review. For anyone who does not need that detailed battery-health tracking, the version described here remains a sound and less expensive choice within the same range.

Who it suits, and who it does not

It suits, first, anyone with a recent Xiaomi, Redmi or Poco phone who wants to use its native fast charging without carrying extra cables: the built-in cable covers this at 55W with no extra accessory. It suits just as well anyone travelling regularly to China with multiple domestic legs, where the CCC certification on the casing removes any risk of confiscation at the security check. Its 74Wh, under the 100Wh threshold, also make it a safe pick for any regular air traveller, whatever the destination.

It suits less well anyone with only an iPhone, a Galaxy or a Pixel, who never gets access to the 55W tier: for that use case, an equivalent model without Xiaomi recognition, often cheaper, would deliver the same service over Power Delivery. It is also not the pick for anyone after the fastest possible recharge for the power bank itself: the stated 4 hours are noticeably longer than the 90 minutes of its own 145W cousin, a gap that matters for anyone alternating short sessions between available outlets. Finally, anyone wanting detailed tracking of battery health (cycles, temperature) should look at the newer, pricier version in the same range mentioned above, since this Nexode 55W settles for a simple percentage.

The rating in detail

Our rating
4.1/5
Capacity and runtime 4.3
Output power 4.0
Size and weight 4.0
Ports and cables 4.2
Recharging 3.8
Build and endurance 4.4
Ugreen Nexode 20000 55W: see the full details and price →

The product and its alternatives

Ugreen Nexode 20000 55W

Ugreen Nexode 20000 55W

See price (10)

Its USB-C cable is built in and doubles as a strap: with 20000 mAh, 55W for Xiaomi devices (45W PD) and CCC certification, it travels as well as it charges.

View product
Ugreen Nexode 20000 145W

Ugreen Nexode 20000 145W

See price (5)

Its USB-C cable is already built in, and it handles 100W: enough to recharge a MacBook with nothing else in the bag, backed by 20000 mAh and a display that tells you everything.

View product
Anker Power Bank 20000 (87W)

Anker Power Bank 20000 (87W)

See price (46)

20,000 mAh and 87 W with the USB-C cable already in the pack: enough to charge a MacBook at 65 W plus two more devices, without ever hunting for a cord.

View product
Anker A1695 (165W)

Anker A1695 (165W)

See price (48)

With 25,000 mAh, 165 W, two built-in cables and a display, the Anker A1695 power bank even charges a laptop and up to 4 devices at once.

View product

Frequently asked questions

No. The 55W tier is reserved for Xiaomi, Redmi and Poco phones compatible with the Turbo Charge protocol. An iPhone, a Galaxy or any other device charges over USB Power Delivery at 45W maximum, an iPhone 17 Pro Max recovering around 66% in 30 minutes on the USB-C port, for example.

The CCC mark, printed directly on the casing, answers the rule enforced since 2025 by the Civil Aviation Administration of China on domestic flights within mainland China: without this visible mark, a power bank can be refused or confiscated at the security check for a domestic connecting flight.

Around 4 hours with a 45W charger or higher, not included in the box. That is noticeably longer than the 90 minutes of the Nexode 20000 145W in the same range, which accepts up to 80W on input.

Yes, through the built-in cable, the USB-C port and the USB-A port, but the three outputs share a common power budget: as soon as several devices charge together, each receives less than its individual maximum of 55W, 45W or 22.5W.

74Wh, a value consistent with the two 10,000mAh (37Wh) cells that make up the pack. This figure stays under the 100Wh limit most airlines allow in the cabin without special authorisation.

Yes, since late summer 2026 Ugreen has been selling a more compact version of the same 55W/20,000mAh range, with a display that also shows charge cycles and temperature, priced noticeably higher than the model described here.