Jackery SolarVault 3 Pro: Our Full Review

The SolarVault 3 Pro packs into a single unit what other balcony kits split across several purchases: a 1200 W bidirectional inverter and 4 MPPT trackers accepting up to 4000 W of panels, a solar input that doubles or triples several direct rivals. Round-trip efficiency, though, is noticeably more fragile at low power than under a full load.

Our rating
4.2/5
Efficiency: 4.0 out of 5 (weighting 25%)Efficiency4.0Capacity and expansion: 4.2 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Capacity4.2Solar input and MPPT: 4.7 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Solar4.7Control and smart features: 4.0 out of 5 (weighting 15%)Control4.0Installation and compliance: 4.2 out of 5 (weighting 10%)Installation4.2Build and endurance: 4.0 out of 5 (weighting 10%)Build4.0

How is this rating calculated?

Jackery SolarVault 3 Pro balcony solar storage battery, light grey unit with control screen and Jackery logo

The essentials

The SolarVault 3 Pro packs into one unit what many balcony kits split across several purchases: a 1200 W bidirectional inverter and 4 independent MPPT trackers, for a 4000 W solar input that comfortably outpaces its direct rivals of similar design. Its expansion ceiling, 15.12 kWh on a single tower and up to 45.36 kWh by linking several units, leaves real room to grow. On the other side, round-trip efficiency, a solid 85% or so under full load, drops noticeably below 80% as export power falls, and the finest zero-export precision requires a separate electricity meter. A particularly strong choice for starting a balcony setup with the inverter already built in, less obvious for anyone wanting full whole-home backup power or top-tier export precision with no extra accessory.

Strengths

  • Built-in 1200 W bidirectional inverter and 4 MPPT trackers in a single unit, with no separate microinverter to add
  • 4000 W of total solar input, two to three times higher than several direct rivals with a built-in inverter
  • Expandable up to 15.12 kWh on a single unit, and up to 45.36 kWh by linking several units in parallel
  • Plug-and-play installation in a few minutes, with no work on the home's electrical panel for the default configuration
  • Local control available through Home Assistant and MQTT, without relying entirely on the maker's app or cloud
  • 10-year warranty, an IP65 enclosure, and a self-heating battery down to -20 °C

Limitations

  • Round-trip efficiency, a solid 85% or so under 800 W, drops to around 81% under 200 W and keeps falling at near-zero export
  • A continuous standby draw of roughly 30 W, a loss that adds up over a full day
  • The finest export precision requires a separate smart electricity meter, not included with the base unit
  • The backup output caps at 1200 W, not enough to run an entire home during an outage
  • The rear panel gets noticeably warm under sustained charging, and the side ports leave little room for cable routing
  • Launched in March 2026 and actively on sale in only two European countries at review time, the product still lacks the track record needed to judge long-term reliability
Jackery SolarVault 3 Pro: see the full details and price →

A modest base capacity, but one of the highest expansion ceilings in its class

The SolarVault 3 Pro starts with a 2520 Wh LiFePO4 battery, of which about 2.1 kWh remains usable once the BMS protection reserve is taken out, a little over 80% of the rated capacity. That modest base then scales up considerably: up to five BP2500 expansion batteries can stack onto the main unit, each adding 2.52 kWh, for a ceiling of 15.12 kWh on a single tower. Linking up to three SolarVault 3 Pro units in parallel with fifteen expansion batteries in total can push combined capacity as high as 45.36 kWh, an option aimed at households with the largest needs rather than a first purchase.

2.1 kWh
actually usable out of 2.52 kWh
15.12 kWh
ceiling on a single unit
Total capacity of the Jackery SolarVault 3 Pro depending on the number of BP2500 expansion batteries added, from 2.52 to 15.12 kWh on a single unitUnit alone2.52 kWh+1 battery5.04 kWh+2 batteries7.56 kWh+3 batteries10.08 kWh+4 batteries12.6 kWh+5 batteries15.12 kWh
Total capacity available on a single SolarVault 3 Pro unit depending on the number of BP2500 batteries added. Linking up to three units in parallel with fifteen batteries in total raises the ceiling to 45.36 kWh.

This roughly 80% usable-capacity ratio is nothing unusual for a recent LiFePO4 pack with a cautious BMS: it shows up, give or take a few points, on several balcony storage kits already reviewed here. The real strength of the SolarVault 3 Pro lies more in how easy that expansion is: the add-on batteries simply stack physically with no complex wiring between them, which makes growing the system accessible to anyone who did not budget for maximum capacity on day one.

Round-trip efficiency: solid under full load, more fragile at low power

Round-trip efficiency on the SolarVault 3 Pro sits around 85% under an 800 W load, and drops to about 81% under 200 W. That gap is not a one-off flaw: it comes down to the fixed cost of the unit's power electronics, which weighs proportionally more as the power being moved gets smaller. On a unit built ahead of the commercial launch, overall AC efficiency had even fallen to 76% across two weeks of real use in late winter, a period when the unit mostly ran at low export power; that specific figure applies only to a pre-production sample and is not necessarily representative of the final retail firmware, but it points the same way as the broader trend.

85 %
round-trip efficiency under 800 W
81 %
round-trip efficiency under 200 W

Two more factors weigh on overall efficiency across a full day. Standby draw sits around 30 W continuously, a loss that adds up as soon as the unit stays plugged in without moving any energy. Maximum power point tracking on each MPPT channel also loses efficiency below roughly 30 W per input, a threshold reached quickly at the end of the day or under heavy cloud cover: this is exactly the low-export condition where overall efficiency slides toward 75 to 80%. On the backup socket alone, output efficiency climbs to 95%, a figure that covers discharge only and does not reflect a full charge-then-discharge AC cycle.

4 MPPT and 4000 W of solar input: the SolarVault 3 Pro's real strength

This is where the SolarVault 3 Pro pulls furthest ahead of its class. Its 4 MPPT trackers are independent of one another, each accepting up to 1000 W within a 16 to 60 V range and up to 28 A, for a total solar input of 4000 W. That independence allows panels facing different directions to be wired in, or partial shading on one side of the balcony to be absorbed, without the other three inputs suffering for it.

Maximum solar input of the Jackery SolarVault 3 Pro against three balcony storage kits with a built-in inverter: EcoFlow Stream Ultra X, Growatt NOAH 2000 and Anker Solix Solarbank 3 ProSolarVault 3 Pro4000 WStream Ultra X2000 WNOAH 20001800 WSolarbank 3 Pro1200 W
Maximum solar power actually accepted by the standalone unit, in watts: the SolarVault 3 Pro doubles or triples its direct rivals with a built-in inverter, thanks to its 4 MPPT trackers at 1000 W each.

Unlike a system such as the Growatt NOAH 2000, which needs a separate microinverter bought and installed alongside the storage unit, the SolarVault 3 Pro handles the entire chain itself: panels connect directly to its 4 inputs, with no extra hardware needed to get a setup running. An additional AC-coupling input can also capture, on top of that, surplus power from a rooftop solar setup that already has its own inverter, a useful option for anyone with panels elsewhere on the property.

A built-in bidirectional inverter, with a cap set by default

The built-in inverter reaches 1200 W bidirectional, but factory output is capped at 800 W by default to stay within the small plug-and-play solar bracket commonly recognised across several European countries. Raising it to 1200 W stays possible, but only after a qualified electrician steps in, which then takes the setup out of the simplified bracket. A separate bypass mode, meant for passing current straight through without going through the inverter's usual limit, reaches up to 2300 W.

800 W
factory default output
1200 W
unlocked cap, backup included

During a grid outage, a dedicated backup outlet delivers up to 1200 W, with an automatic transfer claimed at under 20 milliseconds, well under the threshold most electronics can even notice. That backup power is on par with the best balcony storage kits reviewed here, but still noticeably below the higher tiers of Jackery's own line-up, which pass 2000 W on this exact point: enough to keep a few essential devices running, not to power an entire home.

Installation and compliance: a format built for the simplified bracket

Installation is designed to be plug-and-play: the unit connects in a few minutes, with no work needed on the home's electrical panel for the default 800 W configuration. No complex wiring is needed between the base unit and its expansion batteries, which simply stack physically on top of one another.

On the regulatory side, the 800 W factory default matches the ceiling commonly recognised for small plug-in solar setups in several continental European countries, Germany or Italy for instance; France requires a grid registration regardless of the power output chosen. Rules in the UK differ from that continental bracket, so checking current requirements with the local distribution network operator before connecting any inverter to the grid remains an essential step, one worth repeating given how these rules can change over time.

Control: app, artificial intelligence and local control

The SolarVault 3 Pro is controlled through the Jackery app over Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, with an LCD screen directly on the unit that shows live values without needing to open the app. An AI mode automatically adjusts charging and discharging based on electricity tariffs and weather forecasts, aiming to maximise self-consumption without manual input. One notable point for a product in this segment: local integration through MQTT and Home Assistant is available, letting the unit be monitored and controlled without depending permanently on the maker's app or servers, a genuine plus for anyone who values a self-sufficient home automation setup.

For near-zero export down to the watt, a smart electricity meter noticeably sharpens precision: around 5 W of deviation in normal operation, up to 12 W in the least favourable cases, with a reaction time of 5 to 7 seconds to a change in household load. That meter is not included with the base unit: it is a separate accessory, offered by Jackery or compatible with common third-party options on the balcony solar market. Without one, the unit still works in AI mode or on manually programmed schedules, but with coarser control over the power being exported.

Build and safety: strong specifications, a still-young line-up

The enclosure is IP65 rated against water and dust, with a self-heating battery that allows continuous operation from -20 °C to 55 °C, a wide range for a unit meant to stay outdoors year-round. Jackery states a built-in fire-safety system and 6000 charge cycles for the battery, backed by a 10-year warranty and a targeted 15-year lifespan. No safety flaw or recall has been identified for this model to date.

One real point worth flagging on finish: the rear panel gets noticeably warm during charging, and the side ports leave little room to route cables once the unit sits against a wall. Launched in March 2026, the SolarVault 3 Pro also remains too recent to judge multi-year reliability, a caveat that applies to this entire new Jackery line-up.

Against the direct competition

Among balcony storage kits with a built-in inverter, three references help place the SolarVault 3 Pro: the Growatt NOAH 2000, which needs a separate microinverter, the Anker Solix Solarbank 3 E2700 Pro, the closest architecture with its own inverter already built in, and the EcoFlow Stream Ultra X, the most generous capacity of the group.

The Jackery SolarVault 3 Pro against three balcony storage kits
CriterionSolarVault 3 ProNOAH 2000Solarbank 3 E2700 ProStream Ultra X
Base capacity2520 Wh2048 Wh2688 Wh3840 Wh
Built-in inverter1200 W bidirectionalSeparate microinverter required800 W800 W hybrid
Solar input4000 W (4 MPPT)1800 W (2 MPPT)1200 W (4 MPPT)2000 W (4 MPPT)
Expandable up to15.12 kWh (45.36 by linking several units)8192 WhAbout 16 kWh23.04 kWh
Backup output1200 WNot statedNot stated1200 W

How to read this table depends mostly on what matters most to the buyer. For the widest solar input and an inverter already built in, the SolarVault 3 Pro clearly leads over the NOAH 2000 and the Solarbank 3 Pro. For the largest storage capacity on a single tower, the Stream Ultra X stays ahead, with both a bigger base and a higher expansion ceiling. The NOAH 2000, for its part, remains the simplest option for anyone willing to manage a separate microinverter in exchange for a more modest solar input.

Who the SolarVault 3 Pro suits, and where it is not yet available

The SolarVault 3 Pro suits anyone wanting to start a balcony setup with the inverter already built in, without having to pick and wire in a separate microinverter, and with real room to expand in the years ahead. Its wide 4-MPPT solar input works particularly well on a balcony with mixed orientations or partial shading, where a narrower input would force a poorly placed panel to be sacrificed.

Worth noting: at the time of writing, the product is actively on sale in France and Germany. It has also launched in the Netherlands but is currently out of stock there, and its arrival in Italy or Spain is unconfirmed; its UK launch is imminent, with a pre-order campaign already under way. Checking real availability on your own market before buying remains a step of its own.

For anyone chasing the finest export precision from day one, budgeting for a smart electricity meter on top of the unit itself remains necessary. And for anyone wanting backup power to cover an entire home during a prolonged outage, the dedicated outlet's 1200 W will stay a ceiling, not a complete answer. Outside those two specific cases, the SolarVault 3 Pro stands today as one of the most complete balcony storage kits on paper, carried by a solar input no direct rival yet matches.

The rating in detail

Our rating
4.2/5
Efficiency 4.0
Portability and size not measured
Weather resistance not measured
Output ports not measured
Capacity and expansion 4.2
Solar input and MPPT 4.7
Control and smart features 4.0
Installation and compliance 4.2
Build and endurance 4.0
Battery compatibility not measured
Safety and protections not measured
Jackery SolarVault 3 Pro: see the full details and price →

The product and its alternatives

Jackery SolarVault 3 Pro

Jackery SolarVault 3 Pro

£614.89 (7)

2520 Wh, 4 MPPT and 4000 W of solar input, with a built-in 1200 W bidirectional inverter: Jackery's plug-and-play balcony battery, expandable to 15.12 kWh.

View product
Growatt NOAH 2000

Growatt NOAH 2000

£332.67 (9)

2048 Wh, 2 MPPT and 1800 W of DC-coupled solar input: one of Europe's best-selling plug-and-play balcony batteries, expandable to 8192 Wh.

View product
Anker Solix Solarbank 3 E2700 Pro

Anker Solix Solarbank 3 E2700 Pro

See price (7)

2688Wh of plug-and-play solar storage: 4 MPPT, a bidirectional 1200W microinverter and an AI that optimises your self-consumption on its own. Balcony solar finally pays off.

View product
EcoFlow Stream Ultra X

EcoFlow Stream Ultra X

£1299.00 (13)

3.84 kWh of LiFePO4, a built-in hybrid inverter and up to 1200 W on its own outlets: the EcoFlow Stream Ultra X is the flagship of balcony solar storage.

View product

Frequently asked questions

Yes, a 1200 W bidirectional inverter is built into the unit, with 4 MPPT trackers that accept up to 4000 W of panels directly, with no separate microinverter to install.

That is the factory setting, matching the ceiling commonly recognised for simplified solar setups in several European countries. A qualified electrician can raise it to 1200 W, which then takes the setup out of the simplified bracket.

Up to 15.12 kWh on a single unit by adding five BP2500 batteries, and up to 45.36 kWh by linking up to three SolarVault 3 Pro units in parallel.

Not necessarily: the unit also runs in AI mode or on manual schedules without one. A compatible smart meter does noticeably sharpen near-zero export precision.

Round-trip efficiency sits around 85% under an 800 W load, and drops to about 81% under 200 W. It keeps falling as export power approaches zero.

At the time of writing, it is actively on sale in France and Germany. It has also launched in the Netherlands but is out of stock there, and its arrival on other European markets remains unconfirmed.